Wisconsin Law Review Symposium


Law Review Symposium Draft Program (as of 7/16/2015):

Thursday, October 8, 2015

7:00pm              Opening Banquet for invited guests only (location TBA)

Friday, October 9, 2015 (Room 2260, University of Wisconsin Law School)

8:30-9:00am    Continental Breakfast

9:00-9:15am    Welcome

                         Tonya Brito, University of Wisconsin Law School
                         Dean Margaret Raymond, University of Wisconsin Law School
9:15-10:45am  Panel 1: Rethinking Public Health Law: Race, Science and Health     


            Moderator: TBA
              Chandra Ford, UCLA School of Public Health                          

              Dayna Matthew, University of Colorado School of Medicine

              Shaun Ossei-Owusu, USC


10:45-11:00am  Break

11:00-12:00pm  Keynote: Empirical Methods and Critical Race Theory: A Discourse on

                           Possibilities for a “Hybrid” Methodology


                           Mario Barnes, UC-Irvine School of Law

12:00-1:30pm   Lunch
                          Lunch provided for speakers and invited guests. All others must make their own           

                          lunch arrangements

1:30-3:15pm   Panel 2: #BlackWisconsinLivesMatter: What Can eCRT Add to the


                        Moderator: TBA

                        Erica Nelson, Project Director, Race to Equity Project, Madison

                        M. Adams, Young, Gifted and Black Coalition, Madison

                        Geoff Ward, UC-Irvine School of Social Ecology

                        Osagie Obasogie, UC-Hastings College of Law

                        Zachary Newman, UC-Hastings College of Law

                        Adrienne Dixson, University of Illinois, College of Education

3:15-3:30pm  Break

3:30-5:00pm    Panel 3: Roundtable on Diversifying the Relationship Between Critical

Theory and Social Science Methods: Gender, Sexuality and Class

            Moderator: Tonya Brito, University of Wisconsin Law School
            Gwyn Leachman, University of Wisconsin Law School

            Aziza Ahmed, Northeastern University School of Law

Veena Dubal, Stanford University

Lock Icon