University of Wisconsin–Madison

Announcing the 2007 Hurst Fellows

The Institute for Legal Studies
and the American Society for Legal History
are pleased to announce
the following outstanding young scholars have been selected to participate in the
2007 Hurst Summer Institute in Legal History
June 10-22, 2007 at the University of Wisconsin-Madison

Joshua Barkan, Ph.D. is a Copeland Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Law, Jurisprudence and Social Thought at Amherst College. His dissertation, entitled "A Genealogy of the Corporation: Articulating Sovereign Power and Capitalism" reframed the understanding of the development of "corporate sovereignty" through an historical study of corporation law.

Nandini Chatterjee is a Ph.D. candidate, faculty of history at St. Catharine's College, University of  Cambridge. Her Ph.D. thesis is on the history of the Indian state's policy towards religion, focusing on religious family laws, endowed religious institutions, and regulation of sectarian instruction in state-funded schools, in the period 1830-1950.

Roman J. Hoyos is a Ph.D. candidate in history at the University of Chicago. The title of his dissertation is "'In Convention Assembled': Constitutional Conventions, Law, and Democracy in 19th Century America."

Anne Kornhauser, Ph.D. is a lecturer in U.S. history at Princeton University. Her dissertation title was "Saving Liberalism: Political Imagination in the American Century."

Sophia Z. Lee is a Ph.D. candidate in history at Yale University. Her dissertation is entitled, "'Almost Revolutionary': Labor Politics, Civil Rights Constitutionalism, and the Administrative State, 1935-1978."

Lisong Liu is a Ph.D. candidate in U.S. Immigration History at the University of Minnesota. The title of his dissertation is "Mobility, Community, and Identity: Chinese Skilled Migrants in the U.S. and Transnational Citizenship, 1978-Present."

Masako Nakamura is a Ph.D. candidate in history at the University of Minnesota. Her dissertation, "War Brides of the Pacific War: Marriage, Race, Immigration and U.S. Occupation of Japan," examines how Japanese wives of servicemen became central to the debate about the makeup of the "ideal American family" and led to changes in postwar U.S. immigration policy.

Stephen R. Porter is a Ph.D. candidate in history at the University of Chicago. His dissertaion is "Defining Public Responsibility in a Global Age: Refugee Resettlement, NGO's, and the American State, 1933-80."

Honor Sachs, Ph.D. is a Clay Postdoctoral Fellow at Yale. Her current work in progress is an article, "Creating 'Free Citizens': Negotiating the Political Privilege of Race in the Early National West," which explores the ways that lawmakers used racial exclusions to shape rights on the eighteenth-century frontier as part of a broader effort to secure western lands within the national project.

Stelios Tofaris is a Ph.D. candidate in law at University of Cambridge's Corpus Christi College. His doctoral research, "Contract Law in British India 1772-1905," involves the interaction of English common law with indigenous legal rules in the colonial courtroom.

Laura Weinrib is a Ph.D. candidate in American History at Princeton University. Her dissertation title is "Civil Liberties in America, 1920-1937."

Diana Williams is the Raoul Berger Visiting Fellow in Legal History at Harvard Law School and a Ph.D. candidate in the history of american civilization at Harvard University. Her dissertation is entitled, "'They Call it Marriage': the Louisiana Interracial Family and the Making of American Legitimacy."

About the Hurst Institute

The Hurst Summer Institute is sponsored by the Institute for Legal Studies in conjunction with the American Society for Legal History (ASLH). Each biennial institute is organized and chaired by a well-known legal historian and includes visiting senior scholars who lead specialized sessions. Barbara Welke, Associate Professor in History and Law at the University of Minnesota, will lead the 2007 session. Guest scholars will include past leaders Lawrence Friedman and Bob Gordon, as well as Dirk Hartog, Holly Brewer, and Margot Canaday. The two-week program is structured but informal, and features discussions of core readings in legal history and analysis of the work of the participants in the Institute.  A committee appointed by the ASLH reviewed applications from beginning faculty members, doctoral students with almost completed dissertations, and recent J.D. graduates, and selected 12 junior scholars from around the world as Institute Fellows. This year's committee was chaired by Arthur McEvoy, J. Willard Hurst Professor of Law. For more information:

Lock Icon