University of Wisconsin–Madison

"Empirical and Lyrical: Revisiting the Contracts Scholarship of Stewart Macaulay"

October 21-22, 2011, UW Law School


Stewart Macaulay’s first contracts article appeared fifty years ago. Several others followed in short order, creating a body of work that has proved to be very influential. Macaulay’s principal papers (with pdf downloadable links) can be found here: Macaulay papers.  Sixteen contracts scholars have been asked to present papers that have some connection with Stewart Macaulay contracts scholarship, with an emphasis on the publications from the 1960's. Brief abstracts of the papers to be presented at this conference are linked below. It is expected that the papers presented at this conference will be published as a collection.

Sponsors: The Wisconsin Contracts Group, the Institute for Legal Studies, and the University of Wisconsin Law School.

Timeline and Location: All day Friday, Oct. 21st and Saturday, Oct. 22nd, in Lubar Commons (Room 7200) at the University of Wisconsin Law School. Lunch will be provided on both days. All registered participants are invited to a reception in Lubar Commons on Friday evening immediately following the program, and to a conference banquet on Saturday evening at the University Club.

Who is Invited: This conference is open to faculty, academic staff, law students, and the legal community.

Program Information

Guest speakers and panel chairs include the following distinguished scholars: David Campbell, Professor of Law, Durham Law School (U.K.); Robert Gordon, Professor of Law, Stanford Law School; Ethan Leib, Professor of Law, Fordham University School of Law; Lisa Alexander, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School; Brian Bix, Frederick W. Thomas Professor for the Interdisciplinary Study of Law and Language, University of Minnesota Law School; Iva Božović, Postdoctoral Research Associate, Southern Innovation Project, USC School of Law and Lecturer in International Relations, USC; Jay Feinman, Distinguished Professor of Law, Rutgers (Camden) School of Law; Gillian Hadfield, Kirtland Professor of Law and Professor of Economics, University of Southern California; Claire Hill, Professor and Director, Institute for Law and Rationality, University of Minnesota Law School; Alan Hyde, Distinguished Professor and Sidney Reitman Scholar at the School of Law, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey in Newark; Charles Knapp, Joseph W. Cotchett Distinguished Professor of Law, Hastings College of Law; Jonathan Lipson, Foley & Lardner Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School; Deborah Post, Professor of Law, Touro College, Jacob D. Fuchsberg School of Law; Keith A. Rowley, William S. Boyd School of Law, University of Las Vegas;  Ed Rubin, University Professor of Law and Political Science, Vanderbilt University; Carol Sanger, Barbara Aronstein Black Professor of Law, Columbia Law School; Daniel Schwarcz, Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota Law School,  Robert Scott, Alfred McCormack Professor of Law; Director, Center for Contract and Economic Organization, Columbia Law School; D. Gordon Smith, Associate Dean and Glen L. Farr Professor of Law, Brigham Young Law School; Josh Whitford, Associate Professor of Sociology, Columbia University & Li-Wen Lin JSD, PhD candidate in Sociology, Columbia University; John Wightman, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, Kent University and Senior Lecturer, Kent Law School (U.K.); William Woodward, Professor of Law, Temple University Beasley School of Law; and Jason Yackee, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin Law School.

Distinguished Conference Fellows and audience discussants include Peter Enrich (Northeastern University School of Law), >Kate O'Neill (University of Washington School of Law), Robert E. Rosen (University of Miami Law School), Thomas D. Russell (University of Denver Sturm College of Law), and Alan M. White (Valparaiso University School of Law).

Participant Bio Statements


Link to Conference Papers This is a password-protected site, with access limited to presenters and registered guests.

CLE Credit Approved: This event has been approved for 11.5 general Continuing Legal Education credits for Wisconsin attorneys. There is no fee, but registration is required. A certificate of attendance will be provided to attendees seeking CLE credit in other jurisdictions.

Questions: Contact Pam Hollenhorst, Conference Coordinator and Associate Director of the Institute for Legal Studies, at 

Lock Icon