University of Wisconsin–Madison

2013 Hurst Summer Institute in Legal History

Participants and Program Details


The Hurst Summer Institute is a biennial event sponsored by the Institute for Legal Studies in conjunction with the American Society for Legal History (ASLH). Each Hurst Institute is organized and chaired by a well-known legal historian and includes visiting senior scholars who lead specialized sessions.  For each Summer Institute, a committee appointed by the ASLH reviews applications from beginning faculty members, doctoral students with completed or almost completed dissertations, and recent J.D. graduates, and selects junior scholars from around the world as Institute Fellows. The Fellows come to Madison for two weeks to participate in seminars, meet other legal historians, and discuss their own work. The two-week program is structured but informal, and features discussions of core readings in legal history and analysis of the work of the participants in the Institute.

Hurst Program Chair and Guest Scholars

The 2013 Hurst Institute, June 9-21, will be chaired by Hendrik Hartog, Class of 1921 Bicentennial Professor in the History of American Law and Liberty, Professor of History, and Director of the Program in American Studies at Princeton University. Guest scholars will include Kenneth Mack, Professor of Law, Harvard Law School; Michael Grossberg, Sally M. Reahard Professor of History and Professor of Law, Indiana University Maurer School of Law; Natalie Zemon Davis, Henry Charles Lea Professor of History Emerita from Princeton University and Adjunct Professor of History at the University of Toronto; and Barbara Young Welke, Professor of History and Professor of Law, McKnight Distinguished University Professor, University of Minnesota. In addition, Mitra Sharafi, Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Wisconsin (and former Hurst Fellow) will lead a special session.

The 2013 Hurst Fellows

The Institute for Legal Studies is pleased to announce the following distinguished early-career scholars have been selected to participate in the 2013 Hurst Institute:

Gregory Ablavsky, J.D. is a doctoral candidate and Sharswood Fellow in Law & History at the University of Pennsylvania Law School. Matthew A. Axtell, J.D. is a doctoral candidate in Princeton’s history department. Lily Chang, Ph.D. is the Henry Lumley Research Fellow and a Research Associate with the Centre for History and Economics at Magdalene College, Cambridge, UK. Lisa Eberle is a doctoral candidate in the Group for Ancient History and Mediterranean Archaeology (AHMA) at University of California, Berkeley. Anne Fleming, J.D. is a doctoral candidate in history at the University of Pennsylvania and a Climenko Fellow and Lecturer on Law at Harvard Law School.  Taja-Nia Henderson, J.D., Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor at Rutgers-Newark School of Law. Suzanne Kahn is a doctoral candidate in Columbia University’s American History program. Jessica Lowe, J.D. is a doctoral candidate at Princeton University and an Associate Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School. Jesse Nasta is a doctoral candidate at Northwestern University, where he is a Graduate Fellow in Legal Studies. Michael Schoeppner, Ph.D. completed his dissertation in American History at the University of Florida in December, 2010, and currently is an ACLS New Faculty Fellow at the California Institute of Technology. Laurie M. Wood, Ph.D. completed her doctoral degree in History at the University of Texas at Austin in 2013 and will be the 2013-14 Law and Society Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Wisconsin. Nurfadzilah Yahaya, Ph.D. is the Mark Steinberg Weil Early Career Fellow at Washington University in St. Louis. 

Lock Icon