Carrie Sperling receives 'Women in the Law' award

Carrie Sperling

Professor Carrie Sperling has received the 2017 Women in the Law award, presented by Wisconsin Law Journal. Sperling is UW Law School’s associate dean of experiential learning and educational innovation. She also co-directs the Wisconsin Innocence Project.

The Women in the Law Award is given annually to women lawyers who have achieved excellence in their careers and who have influenced other women to pursue legal careers. Recipients are likewise honored for their commitment to advancing opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession, often in job settings that were historically closed to women.

Among the other 2017 recipients are seven UW Law alumnae:

  • Suzanne Hagopian '85, Wisconsin State Public Defender
  • Laura Sette '04, State Public Defenders Office
  • Michele Perreault '03, DeWitt Ross & Stevens
  • Amy Bruchs '93, Michael Best & Friedrich
  • DeVona Wright '99, Robert W Baird & Co
  • Meghan Shannon '01, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren
  • Melissa Schaller '06, Wisconsin Department of Justice

The 2017 Women in the Law honorees will be recognized at a dinner and ceremony at Milwaukee’s Discovery World on June 7, 2017.


Submitted by Law School News on July 14, 2017

This article appears in the categories: Frank J. Remington Center, Articles, UW Women in Law

Submit an Article