Writing Competitions

Best Brief Competition

Laura E. Schroeder is the winner of the 2016 Best Brief Competition.  Jonathon Davies is the runner-up in the competition.  Other finalists are Claire Dennis, Dustin Page, and Chelsea Wilfong.  Congratulations to these great legal writers!

Other Writing Competitions (arranged by deadline for entry; only the top prize is listed) 

January 31, 2017 - American Indian Law Review Writing Competition - (any issue concerning American Indian law or indigenous peoples); $1,000 and publication in the American Indian Law Review.

February 1, 2017 - Hofstra Law School Family Law Writing Competition - (any area of family law); $500.

February 5, 2017 - Elliot A. Spoon Business Law Writing Competition - (business or securities law); $500 and publication in the Journal of Business & Securities Law.

February 28, 2017 - Louis Jackson Writing Competition in Employment & Labor Law - (any topic related to the law governing the workplace); $3,000 and publication on the "Institute for Law and the Workplace" website.

March 3, 2017 - Trandafir International Business Writing Competition - (any topic of international business); $2,000.

March 3, 2017 - Ed Mendrzycki Essay Contest - (write an essay based on a hypothetical about a specific ethical issue posted on the contest website); $5,000.

March 31, 2017 - LSAC Writing Competition - (essay on why pipeline programs to increase diversity are essential); $5,000.

April 14, 2017 (entry form due) & April 28, 2017 (essay due) - ABA Section of Family Law - Howard Schwab Memorial Essay Contest - (any aspect of family law); $1,500 and consideration for publication in the Family Law Quarterly and on the Section's website.

May 19, 2017 - International Association of Defense Counsel Writing Contest (any issue about the defense or management of the defense of civil litigation); $2,000 and consideration for publication in the Defense Counsel Journal.

May 30, 2017 - Intellectual Property Section of the Wis. State Bar Writing Competition - (any intellectual property topic); $3,000.

June 15, 2017 - College of Labor and Employment Lawyers Writing Competition - (issues related to public or private sector labor and/or employment law relevant to the American labor and employment bar); $3,000.

June 30, 2017 - Robert C. Watson Competition - (intellectual property law); $2,000 and a trip to Washington D.C. to receive the award.

July 14, 2017 - Federal Claims Bar Association Writing Competition - (any topic that lies within the procedure, substance, or scope of the jurisdiction of the U.S. Court of Federal Claims); $3,500 and an opportunity to be published via the association's website.

Return to the Legal Research & Writing Program Home Page.

Log in to edit