Heymann, Lichstein and Quraishi-Landes named 2013 Teachers of the Year by Wisconsin Law Alumni Association

Each spring, the Wisconsin Law Alumni Association recognizes excellence in teaching at University of Wisconsin Law School by presenting its Teacher of the Year awards.

Here are the three honorees for outstanding adjunct, clinical and classroom instruction in 2013:

  • Richard Heymann, Adjunct Teacher of the Year. Professor Heymann, who teaches courses in negotiations and business transactions, takes law students on a field trip to visit Chicago law firms each year. He practiced business law for 29 years, and he currently serves as a fellow at the Center for Urban Land Economics at the UW School of Business.

  • Byron Lichstein, Clinical Teacher of the Year. Professor Lichstein, a 2003 graduate of UW Law, teaches criminal procedure. As co-director of the Wisconsin Innocence Project, he and his students represent the wrongfully convicted, and have litigated several successful post-conviction motions and appeals. Previously, he supervised students in two other criminal law clinics—the Criminal Appeals Project and the Legal Assistance to Institutionalized Persons Project.

  • Asifa Quraishi-Landes, Classroom Teacher of the Year. Professor Quraishi-Landes, who joined the faculty in 2004, specializes in comparative Islamic and U.S. constitutional law. She also serves as faculty advisor to the Wisconsin Journal of Law, Gender and Society. She was a 2012 Guggenheim Fellow and a 2009 Carnegie Scholar.

This year’s winning teachers will receive their awards at the spring Board of Visitors meeting in Madison.

Submitted by Law School News on April 24, 2014

This article appears in the categories: Articles

Submit an Article