LLSA Sends First Group of Students on Pro Bono Trip

Latino Law Student Association Pro Bono Trip to Dilley, Texas
Spring Break 2017 (March 17-26)


The Latino Law Student Association (“LLSA”) at the University of Wisconsin Law School is pleased to announce its pro bono service trip to Dilley, Texas over this year’s Spring Break. The group will be driving to Dilley to process asylum cases for mothers and children detained at the South Texas Family Residential Center (STFRC) in Dilley, Texas. While several LLSA members have travelled to detention centers near the U.S.-Mexico previously, this is the first group of LLSA students to travel independent of the Law School’s Immigrant Law Clinic (“IJC”).

We would like to thank Mike Hall, as always, for his untiring support. In addition, funding for the trip has been generously provided by the University of Law School J.D. Grants program, as well as the Immigrant Justice Clinic. This trip would not have been possible without the help of IJC students—special thanks to Michelle Brandemuehl and Amanda Postel.

Students will be traveling in a University fleet vehicle. We will depart on Friday, March 17 and return Sunday, March 26. Students will perform an estimated 40 hours of pro bono work each over the course of one full Monday through Friday workweek (March 20 through March 24), although the total number of service hours will vary based on the site’s need.

The following students will be participating in this year’s trip:

• Julianna Barker (jbarker4@wisc.edu)
• Jenifer Bizzotto (jbizzotto@wisc.edu)
• Marisol Gonzalez (mgonzalez60@wisc.edu)
• Jacob Mohr (jmohr3@wisc.edu)
• Abby Padlock (padlock@wisc.edu)
• Laura Voegeli (lvoegeli@wisc.edu)

The participating students are privileged to be traveling with a supervising attorney, Ms. Gabriela Parra (gparra@ccmke.org) of Catholic Charities Milwaukee. Attorney Parra will be meeting the students in Dilley, Texas, and overseeing their work throughout the trip.

Any questions or concerns may be directed to Jenifer Bizzotto, (248) 635-4232. 

Submitted by Jen Bizzotto on March 14, 2017

This article appears in the categories: Student Organizations

Submit an Article

lock