The University of Wisconsin Law School Moot Court Board is pleased to announce that it will host its annual Evan A. Evans Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition from Friday, February 18, 2022 through Sunday, February 20, 2022. The competition is open to all law schools accredited by the American Bar Association.

This year’s competition will be in person. However, due to COVID-19, the decision to proceed in person is subject to change. Though we hope to have a firm commitment to an in-person competition as soon as possible, competitors should be prepared to switch to a virtual format.


Registration opens on Monday, September 20, 2021 by 10 am Central and will close as soon as we have 20 confirmed teams. Forms will be processed in the order in which they are received

We will confirm registration via email no later than 72 business hours after the form is submitted. 


The in-person fee for the 2022 Evans Competition will be $500 for one team and $900 for two teams.

If the competition needs to be changed to a virtual format, the 2022 Evans Competition will be $150 for one team and $250 for two teams. Refunds will be issued if necessary.

Schools will receive payment instructions in the confirmation email.


Rooms are available at the Park Hotel under Evans Competition 2022 and will be released Friday, Jan. 21, 2022.

Important Dates

Note: all times are in Central.

  • Monday, September 20, 2021: Registration opens by 10 am
  • Monday, December 27, 2021: Problem released by 10 am
  • Friday, January 28, 2022: Written briefs are due by 11:59 pm

2022 Tentative Schedule

Below is the tentative schedule for an in-person 2022 Evans Competition. All times are in Central.

Day Event Time
Friday, February 18 Preliminary Round 1 4:30 pm
Preliminary Round 2 7:30 pm
Saturday, February 19 Octo-Finals Top 16 9:00 am
Quarter-Finals Top 8 12:00 pm
Semi-Finals Top 4 2:30 pm
Reception & Awards Ceremony 6:00 pm
Sunday, February 20 Final Round 10:00 am

Competition Details

During the first two preliminary rounds, each team will argue on-brief once and off-brief once. Then, the competition director will randomly assign teams to argue either on-brief or off-brief for future rounds. 

The preliminary through semi-final rounds will be held in Dane County Courthouse at 215 South Hamilton Street.

On Sunday, the final round will be held in the Wisconsin Supreme Court Hearing Room in the Wisconsin State Capitol at Two East Main Street.

Competition judge panels will be composed of experienced trial attorneys and judges from various state and federal courts.

About Judge Evans

The Honorable Evan A. Evans, an 1899 graduate of the University of Wisconsin Law School, served as a judge (1916-1934) and senior judge (1934-1948) on the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

He maintained strong ties to the University of Wisconsin by serving as a trustee of the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, as a president of the Alumni Association, and as a member of the Board of Visitors.

While on the bench, Judge Evans asked for and received a separation of the duties handled by the circuit and district court. This meant the district court would handle all of the trial work while the circuit court handled the growing number of appeals. Judge Evans’ request to physically separate the courts resulted in the construction of the United States Court of Appeals building at 1212 Lake  Shore Drive in Chicago.

Noted for his writing skills and outstanding oral argument during his years in practice, Judge Evans left as his legacy a standard of excellence for the field of appellate advocacy. This standard of excellence is what inspired the dedication of our competition to Judge Evans.

The University of Wisconsin Law School Moot Court Board is pleased to honor the career of Judge Evans by inviting students to argue constitutional issues in hopes of living up to his high standard of appellate advocacy.

2020 Evans Competition Winners


  • Best Oralist: Irsa Kooja, Wayne State University Law School
  • Second Best Oralist: Hallisey Travers, Wayne State University Law School


  • Best Respondent's Brief: University of California, Hastings College of the Law
  • Best Petitioner’s Brief: Florida State University College of Law


  • First Place: University of California, Hastings College of the Law
  • Second Place: Washburn University School of Law


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Competition Vice Presidents by email at

Lock Icon