The content of this article is more than 5 years old. Please be aware that information provided may no longer be accurate, up-to-date, or relevant.

Tonya Brito has received the 2016 Women in the Law award, presented by Wisconsin Law Journal. Brito is the associate dean for research and faculty development and the Burrus-Bascom Professor of Law at UW Law School.

The distinction is given annually to women who have achieved excellence in their legal careers and who have influenced other women to pursue legal careers. Recipients are likewise honored for their commitment to advancing opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession, often in job settings that were historically closed to women.

Along with Brito, eight UW Law alumnae received the award:

Johanna J. Allex ’00
Ana Berrios-Schroeder ’95
Marilyn Crowley ’86
Meg Pekarske ’00
Rhoda Ricciardi ’97
Amanda Riek ’11
Ellen Thorn ’84
Nancy Wilson ’02

They were honored, along with the entire 2016 Women in the Law class, at a ceremony and dinner at Milwaukee's Pfister Hotel in June.

Watch a video of Professor Brito that was produced for the event.

Submitted by Law School News on June 29, 2016

This article appears in the categories: Articles, UW Women in Law