Barkan, Frenchick, Ishikawa and Orr named Teachers of the Year by Wisconsin Law Alumni Association

Each spring, the Wisconsin Law Alumni Association recognizes excellence in teaching at University of Wisconsin Law School through its Teacher of the Year awards.

Here are the four honorees for outstanding adjunct, clinical and classroom instruction in 2014:

  • Steven Barkan, Classroom Teacher of the Year. Barkan, who joined the faculty in 1995, specializes in torts. He is the director of the UW Law Library. He is the director of the Law School's summer study abroad program in Giessen, Germany, and he directs the school’s student and faculty exchange program with the University of Giessen. He is the vice chair of the Board of Bar Examiners of the Supreme Court of Wisconsin and serves on the Editorial Advisory Committee of the National Conference of Bar Examiners.
  • Sarah Orr, Clinical Teacher of the Year. A 1993 graduate of UW Law, Orr serves as the director of the Consumer Law Clinic. The clinic functions as a dynamic consumer protection practice, featuring advocacy, litigation and consumer education. In her role, Orr teaches and supervises students in the areas of fraud and misrepresentation, unfair trade practices, mandatory arbitration, high-cost credit, illegal debt collection practices and foreclosure.
  • Grady Frenchick and Jesse Ishikawa, Adjunct Teachers of the Year. Frenchick received his law degree from the University of Wisconsin in 1977. He is currently corporate intellectual property counsel for Lake Regional Medical of Chaska, Minnesota. For three decades, he has been an adjunct at the University of Wisconsin Law School in advanced concepts of intellectual property law, patent prosecution, and basic patent law. Ishikawa practices real estate law with Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren, primarily representing real estate developers. He has served as an adjunct for several years in the Real Estate Transaction II course and has also counseled students interested in careers in real estate law.

This year’s winning teachers received their awards at the spring Board of Visitors meeting in Madison.


Submitted by Law School News on May 14, 2015

This article appears in the categories: Articles

Submit an Article