University of Wisconsin–Madison

Law School Academic Calendar

Spring Semester 2019 

Law Classes Begin
(Note: earlier than most of the University)
Monday, January 14
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
(state holiday; no classes)
Monday, January 21
Spring Recess Saturday - Sunday, March 16 - 24
Last Day Law Classes Wednesday, April 24
Law Exam Period Begins Saturday, April 27
Law Exam Period Ends Friday, May 10
Commencement Activities Friday, May 10; Saturday, May 11

Fall Semester 2018

Labor Day (state holiday; no classes) Monday, September 3
Law Classes Begin Wednesday, September 5
Thanksgiving Recess Thursday - Sunday, November 22 - 25
Last Day Law Classes Thursday, December 6
Law Exam Period Begins Saturday, December 8
Commencement (no exams) Sunday, December 16
Law Exam Period Ends Friday, December 21

The UW Academic Calendar, which gives information for several years into the future, is helpful in getting dates for the first day of classes (fall term only) and holidays, but does NOT provide accurate information for Law School orientation, last day of Law classes, Law exam periods, grade reports, or spring-term first day of Law classes.

Lock Icon