David Staple wins Best Brief Award

David Staple (Class of 2012) won the 2010 Best Brief Award for the best trial-level brief written in the Spring 2010 Legal Research and Writing course.

In honor of his achievement, Mr. Staple will receive a plaque from Dean Ken Davis and his Legal Research and Writing professor, Deborah Moritz.

The other five finalists in the competition were Nina Beck, Shannon Buttchen, Kendra Hogan, Thomas Larkin, and Robert Shepard.

The annual competition proceeds in three stages. First, the instructor for each Legal Research and Writing section selected the best brief written for that section. Those briefs were then reviewed and ranked by three Wisconsin lawyers. The six briefs receiving the highest overall rankings were then reviewed independently by Professors Andrew Coan, Mitch, and Gretchen Viney. The best brief was selected based on their cumulative rankings. 

Submitted by UW Law School News on October 19, 2010

This article appears in the categories: Articles

Submit an Article